Submission period

Mon Dec 19, 2022 at 05AM UTC

End of submission period

Fri Jun 2 at 05:59AM UTC

Results date

Thu Aug 31 at 04PM UTC
The winning composer will receive a $15,000 commission for a major new work for solo guitar (nylon string). The work will be performed in 2025-2026 by a consortium of international performers which will include: Ahmed Dickinson, Martha Masters, Meng Su, and Xuefei Yang, and is expected to meet the highest artistic requirements for the medium. Additional specifications for the work will be negotiated among the Barlow Endowment, the composer, and the performing consortium.

We encourage applicants from a variety of musical aesthetics and backgrounds to apply. There are no restrictions or preferences with regard to musical style, nationality, age, gender, race, religion, locale, or political persuasion. Composers may apply for the Prize and either a General OR a Latter-day Saints commission.

Details are available at web pages: