Da_sh editions 2nd International Composition Competition


Submission period

Sun Nov 21, 2021 at 5 AM UTC

End of submission period

Tue Feb 15 at 10:59 PM UTC

Results date

Tue Mar 15 at 5 PM UTC

Entry or Course Fee

Entry fee 35€ for the first work, 10 € for the following
Da_sh editions together with Da_sh recordings are promoting a new edition for the international composition competition in 2021/2022. This new edition is open to works for flute solo and doublings (piccolo, alto flute and bass flute). The aim of the competition is to discover new works and talented composers in order to promote their pieces through the realization of a new printed edition together with a new professional recording of the winning work. The international solo flutist Alessandra Rombolà will be the interpreter of the recording as well as part of the jury, together with composers and staff from Da_sh editions.

- Composers of any nationality are welcome to participate.
- Composers must be 18 or over at the time of application.
- Previous prize winners and composers who already have works printed by Da_sh editions are NOT eligible.

- Compositions in any style, duration and year of composition are allowed.
- Solo pieces for piccolo / flute / alto flute / bass flute are allowed and also a combination of any of these instruments in the same piece.
- The use of electronics is allowed (fixed or live electronics; 2 channels only). The electronics part must be sent together with the application.
- Compositions that won a previous prize, were performed publicly or non-professionally recorded are allowed.
- Compositions already published or with a professional recording (CD or Digital Album) are NOT allowed.
- Submitted scores can be handwritten, but must be perfectly readable. Unreadable scores will be unconsidered.

- The winner composition will receive:
- 1000 € in cash prize;
- Edition of the piece by Da_sh editions (optional);
- Recording of the piece by Da_sh recordings in September 2022 with flutist Alessandra Rombolá, to be included in a new Digital Album (Reflections III) distributed in Spotify, iTunes and Amazon.
- Additional prizes might be granted according to jury decisions.
- The jury decisions are final and irrevocable.
- By signing the application form, all prize winners give their permission to record their prized piece, without any further compensation for it. She/he will nevertheless maintain their copyright of the work.

Details are available at web pages: