7th International Nikolaus-Fheodoroff-Composition-Prize


Submission period

Thu Jul 13, 2023 at 04AM UTC

End of submission period

Tue Apr 30 at 10:59PM UTC

Results date

Fri Jan 31, 2025 at 05PM UTC

Composer, conductor, pianist and sound engineer, Professor Nikolaus Fheodoroff (b 15 September 1931; d 27 August 2011) was for several decade a major influence in the musical life of Carinthia. In 2013, the Province of Carinthia, in co-operation with members of the Fheodoroff family, initiated the International Nikolaus-Fheodoroff-Composition-Prize, in recognition of his contribution. Since then, the Prize has been awarded biennially, by means of public announcement, in different categories.

"Music contributes to the spiritual and mental development of people."

For Nikolaus Fheodoroff, compositional work always had a holistic, philosophical meaning in a humanistic context: Music should touch the listener directly and encourage them to reflect.

He was particularly interested in new forms of expression, which do this approach justice. The International Nikolaus-Fheodoroff-Composition-Prize is intended to encourage composers to take up this claim and translate it into a contemporary musical language.

In honour of the Carinthian composer, the Province of Carinthia hereby announces the 7th International Nikolaus-Fheodoroff-Composition-Prize, in the


maximum orchestration: 2222-4230-Pk+2, harp, piano/celesta (1 player) und strings 9,7,6,5,4

soloist quartet: violin, flutes (1 player), clarinets (1 player), violoncello

duration: 15 - 20 minutes.

The composition should be in a modern tonal language, the aim being to expand the repertoire with contemporary works. Therefore, the work submitted for the competition may not be previously published or performed.

The Prize, which carries a value of € 15,000, will be awarded in 2025. The winning composition will be premièred at the KSO-Abo-Concerts 2024/2025. Performance venue: Konzerthaus Klagenfurt, großer Saal.

Composers, who comply with the requirements, are invited to submit an online-form including attachments by 30th April 2024.

Details are available at web pages.