Three Errors/Three Remembrances

Added by
Composed by
Jon Paul Mayse
string quartet
With electronics
Work premiered
May 2019
Venue of the premiere
United Kingdom
12 minutes

What is the sound of forgotten music? Three Errors In Recall concerns memory: how we remember music, how are remembrances are touched by feelings, and how our memory fails us. In this work, Beethoven’s Piano Sonata in E No. 31, Op. 109, is put through musical analogs for memory issues. The underlying material is obscured by unusual playing techniques; bows and fingers glide along the strings, fingers slam percussively into the fingerboard, notes are activated by touches of the wood of the bow. The result is a brilliant, delicate soundworld. A warm memory.

Also added by this member
Alphabet IV-V
Jon Paul MAYSE
Jon Paul Mayse