Haazinu (Listen!) The Song of Moses. Seven pieces for the solo piano

Composed by
David Ezra Okonsar
With electronics
75 minutes

The timeless nature and profound poetic elocution of the section from Deuteronomy 32:1-52, known in the Jewish tradition as Shirat Ha'azinu, the Song of Moses, is the source for this series of solo piano compositions.

The work is in seven movements, following the seven chapters, aliyah[1], the Ha'azinu is traditionally divided in the Torah portion Parashah[2]. The composition uses dodecaphonic (twelve-tone) series. The note-series are elaborated based on the symbolic significance attached to the musical intervals.