Sixteen Short Sonatas For The Solo Piano

Composed by
David Ezra Okonsar
With electronics
48 minutes

The Sixteen Short Sonatas for the piano is a series of relatively terse pieces for the solo piano. The écriture is often more straightforward than in my lengthier projects.

The title Sonata is employed here in the Baroque sense of the word. One indivisible musical texture which is not dualistic as with the classical sonata neither programmatic as with the romantic sense of the form.

The Short Sonatas are not thematic but if they were thought to be so, they may be said to be mono-thematic.

The Short Sonatas series is based on one specific 12-tone series, its variants and several of the Sonatas are using simply the full chromatic scale in succession.