International Composition Competition

Piano Trio


Submission period

Wed Jul 5, 2023 at 04AM UTC

End of submission period

Wed Mar 27 at 11:59PM UTC

Results date

Wed Jul 31 at 04PM UTC


Age limit: 38 years (born after March 27, 1986)
On the occasion of the 12th International Competition “Franz Schubert and Modern Music” 2025, member of the World Federation of International Music Competitions and the Alink-Argerich Foundation, contemporary compositions for Trio for Piano, Violin and Violoncello (Piano Trio) are sought. The primary aim of this competition is to encourage the creation of new works for this chamber music category.

The prizewinning work will be on the programme of the above-mentioned competition in February 2025 as a compulsory piece in the category Piano Trio and will be premiered and performed several times.

The competition is open to the public and invites composers from all nations and stateless persons to apply.

Age limit:
38 years (born after March 27, 1986)

Submission deadline:
March 27, 2024

Prize money:
€ 5.000


The jury consisting of seven internationally renowned personalities (composers and instrumentalists), chaired by Chia Chou, will be announced on the website.

A composition for Trio for Piano, Violin and Violoncello is to be submitted with a maximum performance duration of 15 minutes.


Please submit the application form, a scan of your ID and an anonymous score under a pseudonym as well as a short biography including education and teachers via MUVAC.

The work may not already have been accepted for a premiere performance and not been performed in public. In addition, the composition must not have been published until the announcement of the prizewinning works or, in case of being selected as prizewinning work, until February 2025.

Details are available at web pages: