Particle Aggregation I

Added by
Composed by
Sehyung Kim
cello, clarinet, contrabass, flute, midi keyboard, percussion, piano, viola
With electronics
Work premiered
January 2022
Venue of the premiere
Венский Концертхаус, Wien (Austria)
14 minutes

The piece I composed was inspired by the chemical phenomenon of particle aggregation. Similar to this phenomenon, the piece forms from small sequences that are gradually assembled into larger clusters. The process of composition follows a fractal principle, where a single note becomes a group of notes, then an episode, and finally a full piece.