Fifteen Minutes of Fame Featuring Stas Venglevski


Submission period

Wed Dec 20, 2023 at 05AM UTC

End of submission period

Sun Jun 2 at 02:59AM UTC

Results date

Tue Jul 2 at 04PM UTC

Vox Novus is calling for one-minute pieces composed for solo bayan (free-bass accordion).

Selected works will be premiered in Fall of 2024 on Fifteen-Minutes-of-Fame featuring bayanist Stas Venglevski. This performance will be presented as a live streaming online concert online via Streamyard broadcast to multiple streaming platforms such as YouTube and Facebook.

Only works one-minute in length for bayan will be considered.

For this Fifteen-Minutes-of-Fame, we are looking for solo bayan works (no electronics) specifically written for Stas Venglevski.

About the Bayan:

The Bayan is an accordion that was developed in Russia in the very late nineteenth century. It features a button arrangement for the both hands (instead of the keyboard and buttons arrangement on most Western accordions), offering a wider range. It shines its best in the classic repertoire, often giving a sound akin to a large pipe organ.

Stas' bayan includes a bass converter for either 120-bass Stradella arrangement (the bass-and-chords arrangement associated with accordion) or 55 free bass arrangement, allowing several octaves of individual pitches. The notated range of the right hand is from the G (bottom line of the bass clef) to the c# five ledger lines above the treble staff. The range of the left hand is from E (bottom sounding note of a string bass) to the a# one ledger line above the treble staff.

Stas' bayan has four banks of reeds, in the form of a bassoon (sounding an octave lower), two clarinets (sounding at pitch) and a piccolo (sounding an octave higher). Each of these sets of reeds can be used individually or combined with any other set or sets of reeds. For more information on the notation of registers/switches on accordion, see:


Deadline for works is June 1st, 2024
Works are for bayan solo only. (no electronics)
No works over one minute (60 seconds) will be reviewed.
Works should be composed specifically for this call and performer.
All pieces must be premieres.
Multiple submissions are not accepted. Send your best work!
Works need to be submitted online at
You will need to register with Music Avatar for free to submit your work online.
After logging in to Music Avatar, select the opportunity named "Fifteen-Minutes-of-Fame featuring Stas Venglevski" and press the "submit" button to start the submission process.
You will need to provide a maximum 50 word biography and 50 word program note.
You will be able to upload a score as a PDF file (You are also encouraged to upload an audio realization of the work)
Must include the dedication to Stas Venglevski on the score.
Performance notes should be included in the score.
Selected works will be broadcasted online to multiple video streaming platforms including Facebook, YouTube, and Vimeo. No performance royalties will be paid. Selected composers will be asked to sign a consent form.

Results will be announced via the Fifteen-Minutes-of-Fame website.

Details are available at web pages: